If you have an emergency, call 9-1-1 or go to the nearest emergency room.


SLUHN is Network with Most Hospitals Recognized for Excellence in Patient Safety
January 01, 0001

The Hospital and Healthsystem Association of Pennsylvania (HAP) recognized 21 Pennsylvania hospitals for their stellar performance ensuring patients’ safety. Nearly half of the honorees for HAP’s Excellence in Patient Safety Recognition program are St. Luke’s hospitals.

The eight St. Luke’s hospitals honored by HAP are:

  • St. Luke's Hospital - Allentown Campus
  • St. Luke's Hospital - Anderson Campus
  • St. Luke's Hospital - Easton Hospital
  • St Luke's Hospital - Lehighton Campus
  • St. Luke's Hospital - Monroe Campus
  • St. Luke's Hospital - Sacred Heart Campus
  • St. Luke's University Hospital - Bethlehem Campus
  • Geisinger St. Luke’s Hospital

No other health system in the state had as nearly many hospitals on the list.

“These awards are a credit to St. Luke’s outstanding leadership, providers, nurses and other hospital staff and volunteers,” said St. Luke’s Chief Quality Officer Donna Sabol. “Working together, we have achieved a level of excellence that benefits our entire region by ensuring that residents have access to world-class health care with the highest of safety standards.”

The Excellence in Patient Safety Recognition program honors Pennsylvania’s top-performing hospitals that have demonstrated low rates of health care-associated infections. The 2022 honorees were selected based on their performance during 2021.

“HAP is proud to recognize the hospital teams and leaders who demonstrated extraordinary work to protect patient safety—even as they were strained by the COVID-19 pandemic and a historic health care workforce crisis,” HAP President and CEO Andy Carter said. “These talented teams exemplify the commitment that all health care professionals make to ensuring patients receive safe and high-quality care.”

HAP identifies top-performing hospitals using data from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s National Healthcare Safety Network. To be recognized, hospitals must perform better than the mean standardized infection ratio in three key measures: central line-associated bloodstream infections, catheter-associated urinary tract infections, and Clostridioides difficile infections. The program is open to all hospitals across the commonwealth.

Learn more about the Excellence in Patient Safety program online.