If you have an emergency, call 9-1-1 or go to the nearest emergency room.


St. Luke’s Among Inaugural Recipients of HAP Excellence in Patient Safety
December 05, 2019

New program honors PA hospitals for exceptional progress in harm reduction

St. Luke’s University Health Network is proud to announce that two of its hospitals – the Bethlehem and Allentown campuses – have been honored as part of the inaugural class of The Hospital and Healthsystem Association of Pennsylvania’s (HAP) Excellence in Patient Safety Recognition program.

HAP launched the Excellence in Patient Safety program during 2018 to recognize Pennsylvania’s top-performing hospitals that have demonstrated low rates of health care-associated infections.

The program utilizes data from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s National Healthcare Safety Network, the program identifies and recognizes those member hospitals that perform better than the mean standardized infection ratio across Pennsylvania in three key measures: central line-associated bloodstream infection, catheter-associated urinary tract infection, and clostridium difficile infections. This year, 24 hospitals are being recognized for this achievement.

The recognition is open to all Pennsylvania hospitals. A full list of winners can be found at HAP’s website.

“HAP’s Excellence in Patient Safety Recognition is another testament to the Pennsylvania hospital community’s commitment to continuously improving upon the care they provide,” said Andy Carter, HAP president and CEO.

“The honorees embody our mission to make our excellent care even better, and we congratulate the hospitals recognized in this year’s program.”

In April, St. Luke’s earned an Achievement Award from HAP for its outstanding efforts to improve health care in the state.

Fourteen awards were selected from 127 submissions for their exceptional work and innovation in patient care, community outreach and staff leadership.

St. Luke’s continues to hold the distinction of winning the most HAP Achievement Awards of any health system in the state, having won 20 awards since 2010.