skip to main menu skip to content skip to footer
doctorimg

Colleen M. Charney, MD

Family Medicine

check_circle Accepting new patients

link

Locations and contact

Office hours

Monday 8:00AM - 6:00PM
Tuesday 8:00AM - 6:00PM
Wednesday 8:00AM - 4:30PM
Thursday 7:30AM - 4:30PM
Friday 8:00AM - 4:00PM

About Colleen M. Charney, MD

I chose medicine initially because I really wanted to help people, and I had a deep love of science. Medicine seemed to be the perfect choice. I earned my bachelor’s degree in nursing which definitely helped me in choosing family medicine and in realizing the importance of the relationships with patients when caring for them.

I believe in getting to know my patients in order to better take care of them.  Developing a good relationship with my patients and earning their trust is a vital part of family medicine. Only with this type of trusting relationship will my patients be able to be honest with me and allow me to help them through difficult times. Being in family medicine allows me to care for multiple members of a family and even different generations which also helps me know patients better.

The most fulfilling aspect of my job are the relationships I have with patients and their families - seeing babies grow up and young women getting married and having kids of their own; helping older patients get through tough times; and helping families through deaths of loved ones. Being in family medicine allows me to experience all of this, and to share in all of these life events with patients and their families. It is so rewarding to share in these parts of my patients’ lives and such an honor to have them trust in me and allow me to experience all of these things.

After going thru medical school with a National Health Service Corps scholarship to work with the underserved of our country, I trained at York Hospital. I then worked with the Indian Health Service on the Navajo Reservation in Northern Arizona. I met my husband while in Arizona and then moved to the Phoenix suburbs where we started our family.  I continued to work with the Indian Health Service on the Salt River Indian Reservation with the Pima Indians as a contract physician. I also worked in private practice in Mesa, AZ for 3 years before moving back to the Northeast to be closer to family. I live at home with my husband, 3 children and our rescue dog. In my free time I am usually driving my kids around to their practices and watching their sporting events (soccer and gymnastics) and theatre productions. I also like to read, hike, exercise and travel.

 

Text successfully copied to clipboard.