Graduate Medical Education


Internal medicine

Within the Department of Medicine, there is a core faculty of eight attendings and more than 100 volunteer faculty who contribute significantly to the quality of the training program. Each faculty member is board-certified and all subspecialists are boarded in their respective discipline. The faculty is selected based on their clinical expertise and demonstrated commitment to teaching. Faculty members are actively involved in scholarly projects such as presentations at regional and national meetings, participation in large cooperative multi-centered trials, publications in peer review journals and contributions to texts.

The teaching faculty provides a first-rate training experience by teaching at the bedside, giving formal didactic conferences, providing direct supervision of care and by serving as role models and faculty advisors to the residents. The faculty also assists the residents with their research requirement.

Similarly, a dedicated group of core and volunteer faculty is found in the other ACGME-approved residencies including emgergency Medicine, Family Practice, Obstetrics and Gynecology and General Surgery, as well as non-residency departments such as Radiology, Trauma and Pediatrics.


Chief of Medicine Justin Psaila, MD
Program Director Gloria Fioravanti, DO, FACP
Associate Program Director Susan Sefcik, DO, FACP
Clerkship Director David Leh, MD
Faculty Fabio Dorville, MD
Kaushik Kundu, MD
James Phillips, DO
Cara Ruggeri, DO
Subsection Chiefs of Service